The Australian Vascular Biology Society was formally conceived during the Australian Atherosclerosis Society meeting in Queensland, July 1992. Following further work on a constitution in November 1992, the Society officially came into existence in Melbourne, Victoria on Saturday December 12, 1992 at a Vascular Biology meeting held during the 2nd Baker Medical Research Institute Symposium.The Society was legally incorporated on 26th January, 1993. The inaugural Committee of the Society was chaired by Dr Julie Campbell with Dr Peter Little (Secretary), Dr Carolyn Geczy (Treasurer) and Prof. Mathew Vadas and Prof. Colin Chesterman.

Scientific Meetings

The major focus of the Society is an annual scientific meeting. In accord with the wishes of members the Society, meetings are to have two special characteristics. Firstly, the meetings should be held in venues which allow for all of the members to stay together for the meeting; appropriate venues will usually be outside major cities. 

Secondly, the Society will generally meet on its own with careful consideration being given to holding joint meetings on occasion when obvious advantages may exist. The Society has held 26 successful annual scientific meetings, including International Vascular Biology Meetings in 1998 (Cairns) and 2008 (Sydney), with the Society's 20th anniversary taking place in 2012.